Microsoft removed the default behavior of displaying a delete confirmation dialog box in Windows 8, 8.1 and Windows 10. If you use the Delete key to delete a file or folder its sent straight to the Recycle Bin. In earlier Windows editions, you used to get a delete confirmation dialog box. The new behavior may cause issues if you accidentally pressed the Delete key when an important file or folder is selected. Yes, you can recover it from the Recycle Bin but what if you didn’t notice it in the first hand? You will have a tough time finding your file or folder. In this post, you will know how to enable delete confirmation dialog box in Windows 8, 8.1 or Windows 10.

How To Enable Delete Confirmation Dialog Box?

First, on your Desktop, right-click on the Recycle Bin and select Properties.

Access Recycle Bin Properties

Tip! If you have Recycle Bin window already open, you can reach Recycle Bin Properties from the Manage tab.

Recycle Bin Window > Manage tab > Access Recycle Bin Properties

In Recycle Bin Properties dialog, enable Display delete confirmation dialog option.

Enable Delete Confirmation Dialog Box

Click on Apply and then on OK to apply the change.

Delete Confirmation Dialog in Action

Now, when you delete a file or folder, you will get the delete confirmation dialog before sending the item to Recycle Bin.

If you want to again disable delete dialog box, disable the Display delete confirmation dialog option in Recycle Bin Properties.

Do you have any tips to share? Share it in the comments section below. If we like it, we will write about it including a credit to you! Do not forget to share this tip with your friends.

Author

SK Mezanul Haque is the founder of MyTechGuide.org (popularly known as My Technology Guide). Passionate about all things in tech. Let's meet: Google Plus.

Write A Comment